The Scottish Football Association

Club Licensing

The Club Licensing system encompasses a National and European regulatory system. Licensing sets out standards and procedures by which clubs will be assessed as a basis for continuous improvement of many aspects of football. It is a modern form of regulation.

National Club Licensing applies to Scottish FA member clubs and UEFA Club Licensing applies to Scottish Professional Football League Premiership clubs. There is also an extraordinary procedure that applies to any member club outside the SPFL Premiership where that club has sportingly qualified for a UEFA club competition and makes an application to participate in that competition.

National Club Licensing operates a Gold, Silver, Bronze and Entry level system. Clubs are granted an overall award reflecting the lowest level that the club achieves in the four sections of criteria (Ground, First Team Football, Youth Team Football and Legal, Admin, Finance and Codes of Practice).    

An exceptional award will also be granted to a small number of clubs at a Platinum level. A club would therefore be eligible to apply for an award at any level. Clubs in lower leagues may therefore be eligible for higher awards and conversely some clubs in the top leagues might only attain lower level awards.

Licence awards were granted using the new graded system for the first time in 2012.


Read the 2016 Club Licensing Manual in the folders below.

   Club Licensing 2016 - Complete List
Last Updated Friday, 07 October 2016

   Club Licensing Parts 1 and 2
Last Updated Monday, 21 December 2015

   Club Licensing Parts 3 and 4
Last Updated Monday, 21 December 2015

   UEFA Club Licensing Regulations 2015
Last Updated Thursday, 29 October 2015
Explore More...
adidas Avia Signs Bank of Scotland Midnight Leagues Cashback for Communities IMG Mars logo McDonalds Specsavers sportScotland Tesco Bank Vauxhall William Hill Scottish Cup