On Learning Disability week, we are focusing on the achievements of the Scotland Learning Disability team.

The LD squad has been running for 10 years and won the Home Nations Championship in Dublin earlier this year, securing the trophy for the fourth time in five years.

They made history becoming the first Scotland team to win all three of their games in the competition picking up 9 points, against Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland and Wales.

Scotland have played 13 Learning Disability games in total, winning 10 and losing only once.

The squads for Learning Disability football are restricted to under-19s with squads changing year on year.

Scotland Learning Disability coach Gary Macdonald said: “The players have achieved an enormous amount both as footballers and as young people. 

“Our initial aim is to win the championships year on year but we always have other objectives such as improving the players as people. 

“The squad is highly competitive and the standard is very high. 

“To compete internationally these players need to prepare properly and give the same level of application and commitment as any of our other National Squads do. 

“They are more than capable of doing so and as staff we can’t ask for much more than that.”


Disability clubs and mainstream clubs within Scotland are encouraged to put their players forward as part of the recruitment drive for the 2018 Home Nations tournament.

Anyone who may not be sure if they qualify for the squad or not should get in touch by emailing David.McArdle@scottishfa.co.uk

Players must have one of the following:

An identified learning disability

Autism or Asperger’s


Receives ASN Education support within a mainstream school

Receives education support within college or higher education

Attends an ASN School

Previously attended an ASN School

Scotland Learning and Disability Squad: Home Nations Champions 2017

Kyle Gault

Keir Murray

Matthew Mitchell

James Kennan

Dylan Davidson

Ross Mullin

Nathan Lee

Cameron Pollock

Dean McMonagle

Barry Ferguson

Jake Fraser

Dylan Brown

Blair McGregor

Cameron Steer

Struan McLean

James McTaggart

Reece Pollock

William Mitten