Dunfermline and Raith Rovers got the Scottish Gas Scottish Cup Third Round action underway on Friday evening in front of the BBC Scotland cameras and it was the Stark's Park side who triumphed 3-0 to put themselves into the hat for Sunday's Fourth Round draw.

Goals from Jack Hamilton, Sam Stanton and Lewis Vaughan saw Rovers inflict a third defeat on their Fife rivals this season, while the Pars' Lewis McCann also saw a penalty saved by Kevin Dabrowski on a dominant side for the Kirkcaldy outfit.

Jeanfield Swifts had been the story of the Third Round as they defeated Elgin City 6-0 but there was to be no repeat as Clyde defeated them 2-0 in the other Friday night match.

The other 18 ties would take place on a busy Saturday of Scottish Cup action. 

Championship leaders Dundee United were the highest ranked side in the competition but - despite a Kai Fotheringham double - the Tangerines were defeated on penalties by League One side Queen of the South after a 2-2 draw in regulation time.

The day's other major shock came at Ainslie Park as League Two Spartans defeated Championship side Arbroath 2-1, with Jamie Dishington scoring the winner early in the second half.

Alloa Athletic avoided a shock against Dunbar United, who had defeated East Fife in Round Three. Despite falling behind to an early Michael Barfoot strike, Alloa hit back with goals from Kevin Cawley and Conor Sammon as they secured a hard-fought 2-1 win. 

Another side to avoid a shock were Ayr United, who trailed 1-0 to a Kieran Shanks goal, before Sean McGinty equalised deep into added time. The Honest Men then triumphed in extra time as Fraser Bryden secured their safe passage into the Fourth Round. 

Dumbarton also prevailed into extra-time, winning 5-4 away to Annan Athletic in the game of the day.

Partick Thistle were comfortable winners over Queen's Park in the day's all-Championship match-up, while last year's semi-finalists Falkirk defeated Formartine United 3-0 to also progress to Round Four.

Inverness Caledonian Thistle - the side who defeated Falkirk in last season's semi-final - were also in action as they eventually overcame a stubborn Cowdenbeath, to prevail 2-0.

The full Third Round round-up is listed below.

Third Round Scores

Clyde 2-0 Jeanfield Swifts (Fri)
Dunfermline Athletic 0-3 Raith Rovers (Fri)
Albion Rovers 0-1 Bonnyrigg Rose
Annan Athletic 4-5 Dumbarton (AET)
Brora Rangers 1-0 Pollok
Broxburn Athletic 2-2 Buckie Thistle (AET) – Buckie Thistle win 5-4 on penalties
Cumnock 0-3 Broomhill
Dunbar United 1-2 Alloa Athletic
Falkirk 3-0 Formartine United
Greenock Morton 4-0 Bo'ness United
Hamilton Academical 0-2 Kelty Hearts
Inverness Caledonian Thistle 2-0 Cowdenbeath
Montrose 3-0 Edinburgh City
Partick Thistle 3-0 Queen's Park
Peterhead 1-2 Ayr United (AET)
Queen of the South 2-2 Dundee United (AET) – Queen of the South win 4-3 on penalties
Stirling Albion 0-2 Cove Rangers
Stranraer 0-1 Airdrieonians
The Spartans 2-1 Arbroath
Tranent 0-1 Forfar Athletic

Fourth Round Draw

The draw for the Fourth Round of the Scottish Gas Men's Scottish Cup takes place on Sunday evening's Sportscene programme on BBC Scotland. The programme begins at 7.15pm and the draw is expected to take place around 7.40pm.

The draw will be conducted by two of Dundee United's heroes from the 2010 Scottish Cup victory, Craig Conway and Danny Swanson.