Scottish FA Youth Cup Final 2017
Celtic 3-0 Rangers
Wednesday, 26 April 2017, kick-off 7.30pm
Hampden Park

Celtic: Sam Wardrop (39), Calvin Miller (45), Aidan McIlduff (53)

Celtic lifted the Scottish FA Youth Cup for the second time in three years following a dominant derby performance against Rangers.

In the first-half they scored through captain, Sam Wardrop and Calvin Miller with Aidan McIlduff securing the win through an early second half strike.

Rangers went into the game having lost both encounters against Celtic in the league this season and true to form, it was Tommy McIntyre’s side that were on top throughout.

Rangers looked dangerous on the break but it was Celtic who took the lead after 39 minutes.

Calvin Miller quickly burst down the wing before crossing into the feet of the onrushing Wardop who smashed home after foraying up from defence.

Before the break, Celtic’s goalkeeper Conor Hazard assisted their second goal. A long speculative punt upfield wasn’t dealt with by brothers Ross and Robbie McCorie allowing Calvin Miller to tuck the ball home.

Celtic started the second-half strongly and put the game beyond doubt after 53 minutes when Aidan McIlduff stung Robby McCrorie’s gloves with a rasping shot, so much so that the ball escaped the goalkeeper’s grasp and bounced into the net.

As the game drew to a close Michael Johnston was close to scoring a fourth but just scooped the ball over the bar.

After the match, captain and goalscorer Sam Wardrop said: “The boys worked really hard tonight and we thoroughly deserved the win.

“I was pleased with my goal and it was repeating history as I scored in the final two years ago as well.

“It was brilliant to lift the trophy and all the boys are absolutely buzzing.

“We dominated possession and limited them to just a few shots. I thought we deserved the win.”

Celtic | Hazard, Ralston, Wardrop, Kerr, McIlduff, Hill (Hendry), Thomson (McInroy), Johnson, Nesbitt, Miller, Aitchison 

Unused subs: Doohan (GK), Archibald, Crossan, Duffy, Watson

Rangers | Robby McCrorie, Houston, Ross McCrorie, Wilson, Lyon; Ashmore, Barjonas, Gilmour (Jeffries), Rudden (Gibson), Dallas (Burt), Atakayi

Unused subs: Wright (GK), Bradley, Abaradan, Krones

Previous Scottish FA Youth Cup winners