As is always the case in the William Hill Scottish Cup, fans try and predict which match is most likely to produce a shock before the action takes place.

East Fife, Scottish Cup winners of 1938 (as pictured), will be hoping to be the team in the spotlight tomorrow afternoon as they welcome St. Mirren to Bayview.

The Fifers form has been on the up since the appointment of Barry Smith as their manager before Christmas following Gary Naysmith’s move to Queen of the South.

They are now unbeaten in 11 games and defeated League One table-toppers Livingston in the last round. 

They have also today announced that former Manchester City coach Kevin McGoldrick has joined as Smith’s number two after working in a coaching school for City in China.

Confidence is high in their camp with striker Kevin Smith hoping to capitalise on St. Mirren’s poor form in recent weeks.

He said: “They’re having a hard time at the moment but we know they have good players.

“This may be one of the big points of their season because they may get relegated.

“We’ll go into the game full of confidence, while they’re maybe not.

“We’ll use that to our advantage and hopefully progress to the next round of the Scottish Cup.”

St. Mirren have only won twice this season and lie at the foot of the Championship, but do possess players who have plied their trade at a higher level, including Scottish Cup winner Andy Webster.

The Buddies are in need of a lift and a place in the Scottish Cup Final could well give them that boost. 

They know the competition well, having won it three times in their history in 1926, 1959 and 1987, which was the last time a team consisting entirely of Scots won the Cup.

East Fife beat Kilmarnock 4-2 in a replay in front of more than 92,000 fans to lift the trophy themselves back in 1938.

The Scottish FA will have the William Hill Scottish Cup in attendance at Bayview for supporters to have their photo taken with it. There will also be giveaways for kids.

The referee tomorrow is Don Robertson, who will be assisted by Kylie McMullan and Stuart Hodge. The fourth official will be Mat Northcroft.