Tomorrow the Scotland Under-20s will kick-off their Toulon Tournament campaign against Czech Republic in a group also containing Brazil and Indonesia.

The Toulon Tournament first started back in 1967, initially featuring club teams, but has been limited to international teams since 1974.

Scotland have competed at the festival seven times previously, most recently in 1997 where the likes of Lee McCulloch, Gary Naysmith and Barry Ferguson competed before going on to earn full international honours.

Oliver Burke, Sam Wardrop and Scott Wright will all play for Scotland in the tournament having been called up late after Greg Kiltie and Theo Archibald dropped out through injury.

Below is all the information you need to know about the tournament.

Competing nations

Group A: Japan, Cuba, England, Angola

Group B: France, Wales, Ivory Coast, Bahrain

Group C: Scotland, Brazil, Czech Republic, Indonesia

When are Scotland playing?

Wednesday, 31 May 2017: Scotland v Czech Republic, 4pm (UK time), Stade d'Honneur

Saturday, 3 June 2017: Scotland v Brazil, 4.30pm (UK time), Stade Parsemain

Tuesday, 6 June 2017: Scotland v Indonesia, 4pm (UK time), Stade Ladoumègue

How does the competition work?

The teams who finish top of their group will progress to the semi-finals with the best runner-up also involved at that stage.

There is also a third/fourth play-off, taking place before the final on 10 June.

Who has played in the tournament before?

England are the current holders of the trophy after defeating France 2-1 in the final in 2016.

Players who have played at the tournament in their youth include Javier Mascherano, Zinedine Zidane, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer and Cristiano Ronaldo.

How can you follow the action?

The Toulon Tournament is not available on television in the UK but there will be match reports on the Scottish FA website and updates on the Scottish FA Twitter account.

What are head coach, Scot Gemmill’s thoughts?

"The Toulon Tournament is highly regarded around the world and we were really pleased to receive an invitation to participate this year.

"We know Czech Republic, Brazil and Indonesia will be strong but we believe we have a good squad and can do well out here.

"We're ready for the first match and want to start the tournament on a positive note.

"The players have been excellent in training and have coped well with the hot conditions.

"This competition gives our players the chance to test themselves against different styles of play and we're really looking forward to the games."

Who will be playing for Scotland?

The team is made up of players born in 1997 or later, all of whom are eligible to participate in the 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship qualifying matches, which get under way in September.


Ross Doohan (Celtic)

Jack Ruddy (Wolverhampton Wanderers)


Alex Iacovitti (Nottingham Forest)

Zak Jules (Reading, on loan to Motherwell)

Jamie McCart (Celtic, on loan to Inverness CT)

Ross McCrorie (Rangers)

Anthony Ralston (Celtic)

Greg Taylor (Kilmarnock)

Sam Wardrop (Celtic)


Jordan Holsgrove (Reading)    

Kyle Magennis (St Mirren)

Aidan Nesbitt (Celtic)

Ruben Sammut (Chelsea)

Joe Thomson (Celtic)

Iain Wilson (Kilmarnock)


Scott Wright (Aberdeen) 

Adam Frizzell (Kilmarnock)

Ryan Hardie (Rangers)

Oliver Burke (RB Leipzig)

Craig Wighton (Dundee)