Toulon tournament

Scotland 0, Turkey 0 (Turkey win 5-3 on penalties)

Saturday, 9 June 2018, kick-off 3pm (GMT)

Stade France Turcan, Martigues

Scotland v Turkey

A rejigged Scotland Under-21 side lost out 5-3 on penalties to finish fourth overall in the Toulon tournament.

The goalless draw at the end of normal time didn’t do justice to the performance on the day, with full-strength Turkey penned back for long spells despite the red-hot conditions and tricky surface.

Harvey St Clair’s second-half penalty was saved, with captain Over Burke’s miss in the shootout ultimately proving costly.

Elliot Watt

Scott Gemmill made eight changes for the play-off, with 16-year-old Scottish FA JD Performance School graduate Chris Hamilton handed his first start at this level.

The new-look line-up more than held their own in what proved a physical contest.

Recalled Ross Doohan was called into action just before the break to save from Baris Alici, while the impressive Elliot Watt saw a dipping free-kick diverted to safety by keeper Altay Bayindir.

Harvey St Clair

Winger Harvey St Clair’s influence on the game grew and he fired wide before being handed the chance to put Scotland ahead from the spot.

The Chelsea winger’s jinking run drew a foul in the box and he grabbed the ball to finish the job himself.

Used to stepping up for his club, St Clair was naturally disappointed to see Bayindir prove equal to his effort.

Glenn Middleton

Scotland introduced several of their more established players in the latter stages but couldn’t find the breakthrough, with Burke the unlucky individual who saw his penalty saved.

Scotland Squad

Ross Doohan (Celtic)

Robby McCrorie (Rangers)

Daniel Harvie (Aberdeen)

Jason Kerr (St Johnstone)

Chris Hamilton (Heart of Midlothian)

Ryan Porteous (Hibernian)

Anthony Ralston (Celtic)

Greg Taylor (Kilmarnock)

Iain Wilson (Kilmarnock)

Liam Burt (Rangers)

Allan Campbell (Motherwell)

Billy Gilmour (Chelsea)

Fraser Hornby (Everton)

Glenn Middleton (Rangers)

Harvey St Clair (Chelsea)

Elliot Watt (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Oliver Burke (West Bromwich Albion)

Michael Johnston (Celtic)

Craig Wighton (Dundee)

Scott Wright (Aberdeen)


Scotland 1, Togo 1, Stade de Lattre, Aubagne

Scotland 1, France 0, Stade D’Honneur, Salon

Scotland 2, South Korea 1, Stade Parsemain, Fos-Sur-Mer

Scotland 1, England 3, Stade de Lattre, Aubagne

Scotland 0, Turkey 0, Stade France Turcan, Martigues