John McGinn and Erin Cuthbert have been named as the BT Men’s and Women’s Players of the Year for 2019.

The awards mark the end of an eventful year for both national teams which saw the men’s team win their last three matches of 2019 and the women’s side beating Brazil and playing in front of large crowds at their first ever FIFA World Cup.

John McGinn was nominated for the BT Men’s Player of the Year alongside David Marshall, Calum McGregor and Ryan Christie, coming out on top in the online vote, voted on by fans.

McGinn, played eight times for Scotland in 2019, scoring 7 goals, after notching his first for his country against Russia at Hampden.

Cuthbert spearheaded Scotland’s history making year when she scored a scorcher against Jamaica, which has since been voted Scotland’s Goal of the Year.

At the World Cup, the Irvine born striker was thrust into the limelight, and scored against Argentina in Scotland’s final match of the tournament.

Erin Cuthbert was chosen by the public following thousands of votes.