UEFA Nations League
Israel v Scotland
Thursday, 11 October, kick-off 7.45pm
Sammy Ofer Stadium, Haifa

International Friendly Match
Scotland v Portugal
Sunday, 14 October, kick-off 5pm
Hampden Park

Scotland Head Coach Alex McLeish has named his squad for the upcoming fixtures against Israel and Portugal.

Fresh from making a victorious start to their inaugural UEFA Nations League campaign, Scotland will be looking to make it two wins from two when they travel to Haifa later this month.

McLeish’s men will then return home to face UEFA Euro 2016 champions Portugal, with the prospect of Cristiano Ronaldo coming to town an enticing prospect for the Tartan Army.

Steven Naismith is included as reward for a rich vein of form that saw him involved in both goals against Albania. The Hearts striker is now only three games away from his 50th cap for Scotland.

Jon McLaughlin returns to the squad after impressing on debut against Mexico on the 2018 summer tour, with the Sunderland goalkeeper competing with Craig Gordon and Allan McGregor as he looks to add to his cap tally.

Following impressive showings against Albania, Stephen O’Donnell and Scott McTominay are included in a squad which will once again be led by new captain Andy Robertson.

McLeish is also boosted by the return from injury of defensive pair Scott McKenna and Jack Hendry, along with Swansea striker McBurnie, strengthening the squad and increasing competition for places.

With a playoff place for UEFA Euro 2020 at stake, Scotland will be looking to consolidate their position at the top of their UEFA Nations League group as they look to qualify for a first tournament since 1998.

Buy Scotland v Portugal tickets here

Scotland squad


Allan McGregor (Rangers)

Craig Gordon (Celtic)

Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)


Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)

Scott McKenna (Aberdeen)

John Souttar (Heart of Midlothian)

Kieran Tierney (Celtic)

Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen)

Jack Hendry (Celtic)

Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock)

Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)


James Forrest (Celtic)

Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth)

Kevin McDonald (Fulham)

Callum McGregor (Celtic)

Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)

John McGinn (Aston Villa)

Scott McTominay (Manchester United)

Robert Snodgrass (West Ham United)


Steven Naismith (Heart of Midlothian*)

Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)

Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)

Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City)


*On loan from Norwich City