UEFA EURO 2020 Qualifiers
Kazakhstan v Scotland
Thursday, 21 March, kick-off 3pm (UK time)
Astana Arena, Astana

UEFA EURO 2020 Qualifiers
San Marino v Scotland
Sunday, 24 March, kick-off 5pm (UK time)
San Marino Stadium, Serravalle

Scotland head coach Alex McLeish has named a 27-strong squad for his side’s opening two matches in their UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying campaign, which includes a number of new and returning faces to the international fold.

Sheffield Wednesday right-back Liam Palmer receives his first international call-up since representing Scotland Under-21s in 2012, the 27-year-old rewarded for a string of impressive performances in the EFL Championship so far this season.

Fellow uncapped player John Fleck retains his place in the squad having been a late addition for November’s UEFA Nations League decider with Israel, whilst Barry Bannan – a team-mate of Palmer’s at club level – returns to the international setup for the first time since 2017.

Up front, two January arrivals in the Scottish Premiership are rewarded for their eye-catching displays for their respective clubs – Hibernian striker Marc McNulty is selected for Scotland duty for the first time in his career, with the 26-year-old joined in the squad by the recalled Oliver Burke.

Norwich City midfielder Kenny McLean will be looking to win his first cap since last summer’s two match tour to Peru and Mexico after being rewarded for his recent run of form for the East Anglian side. Lewis Morgan is also included for the first time since that tour, the winger having earned rave reviews since joining Sunderland on loan in January.

The squad is further enhanced by the return of a number of established squad players from injury, including Aston Villa midfielder John McGinn and Celtic defender Kieran Tierney.

Andy Robertson continues as squad captain, as the squad looks to continue the momentum built at the conclusion of their successful UEFA Nations League campaign.

Scotland Squad

Scott Bain (Celtic)
Liam Kelly (Livingston)+
Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

David Bates (Hamburg)
Stuart Findlay (Kilmarnock)++
Scott McKenna (Aberdeen)
Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock)
Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday)
Andy Robertson (Liverpool)
John Souttar (Heart of Midlothian)
Kieran Tierney (Celtic)

Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)
John Fleck (Sheffield United)
John McGinn (Aston Villa)
Callum McGregor (Celtic)
Kenny McLean (Norwich City)
Scott McTominay (Manchester United)
Callum Paterson (Cardiff City)
Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen)

Oliver Burke (Celtic)*
James Forrest (Celtic)
Ryan Fraser (AFC Bournemouth)
Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)
Marc McNulty (Hibernian)**
Lewis Morgan (Sunderland)***
Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City)

*on loan from West Bromwich Albion
**on loan from Reading
***on loan from Celtic

+ replaced Jordan Archer (injured)
++ replaced Charlie Mulgrew (injured)

Barry Bannan originally named in squad but withdrew due to injury