Steve Clarke has named his squad for next month’s vital Hampden UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying double-header against Russia and Belgium.

Scotland enter the international period knowing they need results against the top two teams in the qualifying group, with second seeds Russia currently three points ahead of Scotland.

Stalwarts Steven Naismith and Robert Snodgrass are recalled for the crunch matches and Clarke will be hoping the pair can supply the goals to haul Scotland back into contention for an automatic berth at UEFA EURO 2020.

Centre halves Grant Hanley and Liam Cooper are also recalled, the duo both beginning the season captaining Norwich and Leeds respectively.

Clarke will be hoping that Ryan Christie and James Forrest transfer their goal-scoring form at club level to the international scene, with Celtic having registered 15 goals in just the first three matches in their pursuit of a ninth straight title.

Captain Andy Robertson will look to make up for missing Scotland’s last outing against Belgium, having scored the opener against Cyprus at Hampden in the first match of the last international period in June.

Ryan Jack could add to his two caps having made Clarke's squad after enjoying an impressive start to the domestic campaign with Rangers. 

Oliver McBurnie will be eager to build on a promising start to the season, after scoring a fine header against Leicester City to open his Premier League account following his summer switch to newly-promoted Sheffield United. 

Scotland Squad

Craig MacGillivray (Portsmouth)
David Marshall (Wigan Athletic)
Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

David Bates (Sheffield Wednesday)* – Called up 1 September
Liam Cooper (Leeds United)
Michael Devlin (Aberdeen) – Called up 1 September
Charlie Mulgrew (Wigan Athletic)**
Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock)
Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)
Greg Taylor (Kilmarnock)

Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)
Ryan Christie (Celtic)
Ryan Jack (Rangers)
John McGinn (Aston Villa)
Callum McGregor (Celtic)
Kenny McLean (Norwich City)
Scott McTominay (Manchester United)
Robert Snodgrass (West Ham)

James Forrest (Celtic)
Ryan Fraser (AFC Bournemouth)
Oliver McBurnie (Sheffield United)
Steven Naismith (Heart of Midlothian)
Matt Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)
Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City)

* On loan from Hamburger SV
**On loan from Blackburn Rovers

Grant Hanley (Norwich City)
Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday)

Get your tickets here