On Sunday the 2016 Victory Shield will kick-off and all six matches will be streamed live on the Scotland National Team Facebook page and YouTube channel.

The Scotland squad, coached by Brian McLaughlin and James Grady, includes 15 players from the Scottish FA’s Performance School.

The Victory Shield involves the under-16 sides from Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales and Republic of Ireland who will come together between 30th October and 4th November.

The tournament is steeped in history, originating in 1925 before being revived in 1946 with England previously participating.

Scotland have experienced success at the tournament having won the trophy 17 times.

The competition has acted as a starting point for many established international players.

Seventy-five times capped midfielder Darren Fletcher, now with West Bromwich Albion, was a member of the Scotland team in 1999 that won the Victory Shield at Peterborough (1-0) against England.

Hull City goalkeeper Allan McGregor and Sheffield Wednesday striker Steven Fletcher also played their part in the tournament in their youth.

The last time Scotland lifted the trophy was three years ago with a group of players who have since gone on to play regularly for the Scotland Under-17 and Under-19 teams.

Wales are the current holders of the trophy having won the competition for the last two years.


All of the matches in the Victory Shield require a ticket which can be bought online here.

Scotland’s opening match against Northern Ireland on Sunday is sold-out.

Match Schedule:

Sunday 30th October:

2pm - Scotland v Northern Ireland

5pm - Wales v Republic of Ireland

Tuesday 1st November

1pm - Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland

4pm - Scotland v Wales

Friday 4th November

12.30pm - Northern Ireland v Wales

3.30pm - Scotland v Republic of Ireland

Scotland squad 


Ryan Mullen (Celtic) 

Archie Mair (Aberdeen) - PS


Taylor Wilson (Hamilton) - PS

Andrew Kerr (Celtic) 

Nathan Patterson (Rangers) - PS

Chris Hamilton (Hearts) - PS

Kane O’Connor (Hibernian) 

Jamie Walker (Rangers) - PS

Luis Binks (Tottenham) 


Marc Leonard (Hearts) - PS

Harry Cochrane (Hearts) - PS

Dean Campbell (Aberdeen) - PS

Ethan Erhahon (St. Mirren) - PS

Billy Gilmour (Rangers) - PS


Kieran McGrath (Celtic) 

Zac Butterworth (Rangers) - PS

Jamie Semple (Motherwell) - PS

Anthony McDonald (Hearts) - PS

Joshua McPake (Rangers) - PS

Karamoko Dembele (Celtic) 

Aaron Pressley (Aston Villa) 

* PS denotes Performance School pupil