On Friday, 30 April, the draw for the Women’s World Cup 2023 Qualifiers will take place at 12.30pm (UK time) where Scotland will find out their opponents as they aim to reach the tournament once again.

Donning the world stage for the first time in 2019, Scotland have set their sights on a second successive World Cup and will go into Friday’s draw alongside 50 other teams.

Scotland are currently placed 23 in the world and have been placed into Pot 2 for the draw that will split the 51 competing countries into six groups of six teams and three groups of five.

The nine group winners qualify directly for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The nine group runners-up will then contest play-off matches in October 2022 to determine the two remaining direct spots, as well as the spot for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup play-off tournament.

The fixtures are scheduled to take place between September 2021 and September 2022.

The finals of the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand, with both nations automatically qualifying as hosts.

Watch the draw

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup – UEFA Qualifying Draw

Pot 1: Netherlands, Germany, England, France, Sweden, Spain, Norway, Italy, Denmark.

Pot 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Austria, Iceland, Scotland, Russia, Finland, Portugal, Wales

Pot 3: Czech Republic, Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Poland, Slovenia, Romania, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland.

Pot 4: Slovakia, Hungary, Belarus, Croatia, Greece, Albania, North Macedonia, Israel, Azerbaijan.

Pot 5: Turkey, Malta, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Latvia.

Pot 6: Montenegro, Lithuania, Estonia, Luxembourg, Armenia, Bulgaria.


Group stage

13–21 September 2021

18–26 October 2021

22–30 November 2021

4–12 April 2022

29 August–6 September 2022

UEFA play-offs

3–11 October 2022