International Friendly Match
Scotland v Belgium
Friday, 7 September, kick-off 7.45pm
Hampden Park

UEFA Nations League
Scotland v Albania
Monday, 10 September, kick-off 7.45pm
Hampden Park

Alex McLeish has named a youthful squad for Scotland’s inaugural match in the new UEFA Nations League.

With an average player age of less than 26, Scotland will face off against Albania in Group C1 at Hampden Park on Monday, 10 September as they aim to get their campaign off to the perfect start in their quest to secure a play-off spot for UEFA Euro 2020.

Prior to that they will take on a star-studded Belgium side that finished third in this year’s FIFA World Cup in a friendly on Friday, 7 September.

Stephen O’Donnell and Johnny Russell retain their places after impressing on Scotland’s summer tour to Peru and Mexico earlier this year.

John Souttar is in line to receive his first senior cap after being forced to pull out of the summer tour squad due to injury.

Liverpool left-back Andy Robertson returns to the squad, having not been available for selection against Peru and Mexico due to his participation in the Champions League Final against Real Madrid in May.

A number of other familiar faces return to the squad, with regulars such as Craig Gordon, Allan McGregor, Kieran Tierney, Leigh Griffiths and Ryan Fraser among the names who missed the Peru and Mexico matches.

Stuart Armstrong and John McGinn are also included, following summer transfers to Southampton and Aston Villa, respectively.

Buy tickets now

Scotland Squad


Jordan Archer (Millwall)                                                                              

Craig Gordon (Celtic)                                                                                      

Allan McGregor (Rangers)                                                                            


Jack Hendry (Celtic)*                                                                                        

Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)                                                   

Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock)                                                           

Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)                                                                

Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen)                                                                     

John Souttar (Heart of Midlothian)                                                      

Kieran Tierney (Celtic)                                                                                  


Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)                                                          

Tom Cairney (Fulham)*                                                                                   

James Forrest (Celtic)                                                                                   

Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth)

Ryan Jack (Rangers)**                                                                     

Kevin McDonald (Fulham)                                                                          

John McGinn (Aston Villa)                                                                           

Callum McGregor (Celtic)                                                                            

Scott McTominay (Manchester United)                                            

Callum Paterson (Cardiff City)

Robert Snodgrass (West Ham United)**


Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)                                                                                   

Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)

Steven Naismith (Heart of Midlothian)**                                                                       

Matt Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)*                                               

Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City)


*Withdrawn due to injury

**Added to squad