Pinatar Cup Final 2024

Scotland v Finland

Tuesday, 27 February KO 1.05pm (UK)

Pinatar Arena, Spain

Scotland booked their spot in the final of this year’s Pinatar Cup after a decisive 2-0 win over Philippines at the weekend. A first-half brace from Martha Thomas secured the victory to ensure 2024 got off to a winning start for Pedro Martinez Losa’s side.

Scotland dominated the opening 45 minutes, but the blustery conditions were tough to contend with as the game progressed and the Philippines came alive with the wind behind them. Sandy MacIver was a little busier in the second-half but an experienced defensive back line helped keep the clean sheet intact.

Experience was a theme for SWNT in the opening game with Hayley Lauder’s first international start in 4 years and Rangers’ striker Jane Ross making her return after a lengthy injury lay-off. The pair amassing nearly 250 caps between them.

Finland progressed to the final of this year’s tournament following a narrow 1-0 victory over a very impressive Slovenia team.

Team news

Full squad fit and available for selection.

Pre-match thoughts

Pedro Martinez Losa on playing against Finland: “Last year against was a challenge. It was a very difficult game, they are a good team, especially in possession. They are very well prepared, so we are going to have to be really good in certain phases of the game.

“Finland are going to expose us to other standards, and we want to match that. We are confident we can play at that level and that is going to be a good test for us in and out of possession, level of togetherness on the pitch, level of execution in individual duals, set plays, on the ball – which we want to dominate on.

“Finland have athletic players, a very good focus and are a solid team."

Previous meeting

Scotland ran out 2-1 winners over Finland last summer in Tampere. Caroline Weir and Emma Watson were both on the scoresheet.

Where to watch

The match will be live on BBC Alba and BBC iPlayer

Scotland squad

Fiona Brown Glasgow City

Jenna Clark Liverpool FC

Chelsea Cornet Rangers FC

Rachel Corsie Aston Villa FC

Erin Cuthbert Chelsea FC

Lauren Davidson Glasgow City

Nicola Docherty Rangers FC

Leah Eddie Hibernian FC

Claire Emslie Angel City FC

Lisa Evans Bristol City FC

Jenna Fife Rangers FC

Lee Gibson Glasgow City

Kirsty Hanson Aston Villa FC

Brogan Hay Rangers FC

Sophie Howard Leicester City FC

Sam Kerr FC Bayern Frauen

Hayley Lauder Glasgow City

Sandy MacIver Manchester City FC

Jamie Lee Napier Bristol City FC

Amy Rodgers Bristol City FC

Jane Ross Rangers FC

Jenny Smith Celtic FC

Martha Thomas Tottenham Hotspur