The Scotland Women’s National Team have secured a play-off spot for FIFA Women’s World Cup qualification with a game to spare, following this evening’s 2-0 victory for Ukraine over Hungary.

Pedro Martinez Losa’s side will head to the Faroe Islands for their last qualifier in September knowing that they cannot be caught in second place and will take part in the play-offs a month later in October.

How the play-offs work

The play-offs will take place later this year between 3–11 October.

In the play-offs, the three best qualifying group runners-up will be seeded directly to Round Two of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up will contest three single-leg play-offs in Round One.

The three winners from Round One and the three teams seeded directly to Round Two will then compete in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and Round Two play-offs) will qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The remaining play-off winner will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs.

Inter-confederation play-off

A ten-team tournament will be held from 17 to 23 February 2023 in Australia and New Zealand to decide the last three finalists.

Continental allocation
AFC: 2
CAF: 2
OFC: 1

The teams will be split into three groups, two of three teams and one of four, with seeding decided by FIFA ranking. All three groups will be played as separate knockout competitions with the winner of each qualifying for the finals.

In the two three-team groups, the seeded team will go straight to the final (after playing a friendly against Australia or New Zealand) and meet the winner of a semi-final between the other two nations.