Five dedicated volunteers from across the East of Scotland have been recognised for their commitment to grassroots football.

Ryan Sturrock, Isla Buchanan, David Noble, Andy Cameron and Jim Hunter their regional 2016 Scottish FA Grassroots Awards, presented by McDonald’s, at Tannadice Park, before Dundee United’s match against Dunfermline.

The winners were recognised for their commitment to grassroots football at a regional level after being judged by a panel of Scottish FA and McDonald’s representatives. They will now go on to represent the East region in the national awards, with their nomination put forward to the national judging panel.

The 2016 award winners from the East Region are:

• Volunteer of the Year in Youth Football – Jim Hunter, Dundee West FC
• Volunteer of the Year in Disability Football – Isla Buchanan, Letham Lions
• Volunteer of the Year in Schools Football – Andy Cameron, Clepington Primary
• Volunteer of the Year in Adult Football – Ryan Sturrock, Dundee Futsal
• Volunteer of the Year in Girls’/Womens’ Football – David Noble, Bayside FC

National award winners will be honoured at the Grassroots Award Ceremony, held at Hampden Park later in the year.

Scottish FA Club Development Manager, Gavin Tinley, said: “Every year we are inspired by the fantastic stories of the dedicated volunteers who are nominated for the Grassroots Awards.

“The enthusiasm and commitment of this year’s winners is second to none, and we are delighted to recognise their valuable contribution to the grassroots football community in the East region. We would like to thank them for their efforts and wish them the best of luck in the nominations for the national awards.”

McDonald’s has been community partner of the Scottish FA for over 14 years. Together we will be working to help Quality Mark clubs raise the standards of grassroots football through better safety, better advice, better coaching for better coaches, better kit, better support and better recognition for volunteers.