Keep up-to-date with the latest football activities in the West region on Twitter @sfa_west

Representatives of 32 grassroots attended a special awards evening  at Hampden to receive the prestigious Scottish FA Quality Mark Award, in partnership with McDonald’s, for their valuable contribution to grassroots football within the West area.

The Quality Mark Accreditation Scheme, run by The Scottish FA in partnership with McDonald’s and sportscotland, recognises proactive clubs and schools working to increase youth and community participation in football.

There are four Quality Mark accredited categories - Standard, Development, Community and Legacy. They are awarded to clubs and schools who demonstrate outstanding performances in areas such as coach and player development, management, administration, welfare and planning.

Scottish FA West regional manager Paul McNeill said: “Grassroots clubs and schools strive to provide accessible football for all in a fun and safe environment.

“In doing so a lot of volunteers put in countless hours of hard work to make sure they adhere to the highest standards both on and off the pitch so young footballers can enjoy the game.

“We are delighted to have been able to recognise all the fantastic work that the clubs and schools do for grassroots football. Well done to them all for achieving the high standards required to gain a Quality Mark Award and many thanks to McDonald’s and sportscotland for their continued support of the programme.”

McDonald’s Head of Scottish Football, Kenny Dalglish, added: “The Quality Mark Award is helping The Scottish FA to raise the standards at which clubs and schools are delivering football at the grassroots level. The scheme allows us to make sure players receive quality coaching but more importantly that football is made accessible to all not just the best in each age group.”

The following clubs received an award on the night:

Campbeltown and District Community FC Standard
Carolside Primary Sports Club Development
Giffnock Soccer Centre Legacy
Barrhead YFC Development
Mearns Churches FC Standard
Greater Easterhouse FC Standard
Rangers SABC Standard
Shettleston Juniors FC Standard
Pollok United Soccer Academy Community
Glasgow City FC Development
Hillwood BC Development
Pollok FC Standard
Whitacres Community Academy for Sport Standard
Palace Park FC Standard
North Glasgow United Development
FC Thistle Standard
Petershill AFC Standard
Westercommon Star FC Standard
Croftfoot United Development
Castlemilk BC Standard
Glen Thistle FC Standard
Broomhill Sports Club Standard
First Touch Football Standard
Victoria Park FC Standard
Ardgowan Football Development Development
Port Glasgow BC Development
St Andrews BC Development
Greenock United Standard
Erskine YFC Community
Glentyan Thistle Standard
Linwood Rangers YC Development
Renfrew Victoria YFC Development