Keep up-to-date with the latest football activities in the South West region on Twitter @sfa_southwest

Hampden Park recently played host to the annual Scottish FA South West Region Quality Mark Awards.

20 clubs from the region and one school were honoured for their work through the accreditation programme.

The Scottish FA Quality Mark accreditation programme is designed to support and recognise the work of clubs and teams who have a desire to be the very best they can be.

To gain one of the awards - Standard, Development, Community or Legacy – there is a related list of criteria that the club must achieve.

This criteria is aimed at improving or supporting management, development structures, administration, planning and welfare.
Former Kilmarnock FC Captain Garry Hay assisted in the presentation of the awards alongside Louise Roe and Andy Gibson from sponsors' McDonalds.

Bill Leckie from the Scottish Sun gave an entertaining insight into the world of football from a journalist's perspective and Legacy Clubs Claremont AFC, Kilbirnie Community FC and Strathaven Dynamo AFC delivered presentations on the work they do in their local community.
Scottish FA South West regional manager, John Brown, said: "The Quality Mark Awards is an opportunity to highlight all the good work done in grassroots football throughout the region and we are delighted that so many clubs have engaged in the process this year.

"We are delighted with the continued support from our community partners McDonalds, and it speaks volumes for the strength of the relationship that Louise and Andy were so willing to give up their time on a Friday night to assist with the awards presentations.

"For many of the clubs being recognised, Quality Mark is a key component of their vision and ethos, and for others who are just starting the journey it has helped them think more about planning for the future and becoming more sustainable.

"We are also delighted that teams from five different National Associations - SYFA, SAFA, SWF, SJFA and SSFA were recognised, which again shows the strength of the joint working approach through the One National Plan."

Scottish FA South West regional club development manager, Graeme Mathie, said: "It has been a pleasure working with every one of these clubs this year.

"It is always amazing to see the amount of time and effort people are prepared to give on a voluntary basis just to let people play football, and the awards night is a great way to say thank you to the great people who make it happen.

"In all our visits to see best practice across Europe one thing becomes clear - good clubs are connected by one thing - good people, and we are very fortunate to be working with a lot of good people in this Region who work so hard to develop the game."

List of winners:

Stranraer Ladies Standard
Crosshouse BC    Standard
Dalrymple YFC Standard
Dean Thistle BC Standard
Galston YFC Standard
Grange Academy Standard
Rowallan Sports Club Standard
Bonnyton Thistle FC Community
Winlinton Wolves Standard
TASS Thistle Development
Kilbirnie Community FC Legacy
Coylton YFC Standard
Glenburn Miners Welfare Standard
U.C.A. Standard
Whitletts Victoria Standard
AUFA Girls Development
Cambuslang Football Academy Standard
Moorlands Standard
Gow Valley Development
Claremont AFC Legacy
Strathaven Dynamo AFC Legacy