St Mirren's Ryan Hardie congratulated grassroots heroes from across the West of Scotland, as they were named  regional winners of the 2016 Scottish FA Grassroots Awards, presented by McDonald’s.

Donnie Brooks, Jason Methven, Lynn McInally, Stewart McLachlan, and David Paterson have been recognised for their commitment to grassroots football at a regional level after being judged by a panel of Scottish FA and McDonald’s representatives. They were presented with their awards at the Paisley 2021 Stadium, before St Mirren’s match against Edinburgh City.

Now all five will go on to represent the region in the national awards, with their nomination put forward to the national judging panel.

The 2016 award winners from the West Region are:

• Volunteer of the Year in Youth Football – David Paterson, Campbeltown & District
• Volunteer of the Year in Disability Football – Jason Methven, Flyer Disability Team
• Volunteer of the Year in Schools Football – Stewart McLachlan, Schools FA Ref & Admin
• Volunteer of the Year in Adult Football – Donnie Brooks, Glasgow Colleges
• Volunteer of the Year in Girls’/Womens’ Football – Lynn McInally, Gleniffer Thistle

National award winners will be announced at the annual National Grassroots Award Ceremony, which will be held at Hampden Park later in the year.

Scottish FA Regional Manager, Paul McNeil, said: “It's always inspiring to present these awards to some of the fantastic people who make grassroots football tick in our region.

"They have all worked tirelessly to create opportunities for scores of players across the West of Scotland, and we are very thankful for their efforts. We wish them all the best for the national awards later this year."

McDonald’s has been community partner of the Scottish FA for over 14 years. Together we will be working to help Quality Mark clubs raise the standards of grassroots football through better safety, better advice, better coaching for better coaches, better kit, better support and better recognition for volunteers.