A new series of Community Football Days – run in conjunction with McDonald’s and the Scottish FA – hopes to encourage more players and volunteers into the game this summer.

The McDonald’s/Scottish FA Community Football Days will see a number of family themed football events tour the country with a focus on youth participation. Activities on each day will include a mixture of:

- Fun football activities for various ages
- Small-sided games
- Skills zones
- Inflatable activities
- Coach recruitment sessions
- Beat the goalie
- Fundraising activities

The first event will take place this Saturday 18th July at Westfield Park in Denny – home of Dunipace Juniors and Central Rio. A tour around the country will follow with visits to Airdrie, Dundee, Aberdeen, Linlithgow, Kilbirnie and Glasgow.

Sat 18th July
10am to 2.30pm
Central Rio & Dunipace Juniors
Westfield Park, Dunipace

Sunday 2nd August
10am to 3pm
Linlithgow Rose CFC
Prestonfield Park, Braehead Road, Linlithgow

Saturday 8th August
10.30am to 3.30pm
Glasgow Girls + Boys Club
Budhill Park, Glasgow

Sunday 9th August
11am to 5pm
Kilbirnie CFC
Valefield, Kilbirnie

Sun 9th August
10.30am to 2.30pm
Gartcairn Football Academy
St Margaret’s High School, Airdrie

Sun 16th August
10am to 2.30pm
Dundee East Community Sports Club
Whitton Park, Dundee

Sunday 23rd August
Timings to be confirmed
Broomhill Boys Club
St Patricks High School, Inverclyde

Sunday 13th September
Timings to be confirmed
Cove Community Club
Gateway Park, Cove, Aberdeen

The Scottish FA’s Head of Regional Development Andy Gould is confident the Community Days can provide a way for community clubs to raise their profile and encourage new people into the game.

He said: “The key aim of the open days is to inspire young people along to their local club and get them participating in football with a view to capturing their enthusiasm longer term. Clubs will also have the opportunity to attract new volunteers and helpers along and show to the whole community what they can provide.

“Our clubs have a huge part to play in the development of our game and this project allows us to support them become more visible and better equipped to grow and spread the enjoyment of our game further.”

If you’re a club and would like more information on how to host a Football Day please contact your Regional Club Development Manager listed below -

Central Region: Alan Taylor (North Lanarkshire, East and West Dunbartonshire) - alan.taylor@scottishfa.co.uk or Alan Morgan (Clackmannanshire, Falkirk or Stirling) - alan.morgan@scottishfa.co.uk

East Region: Gavin Tinley - gavin.tinley@scottishfa.co.uk

North Region: Mark Slater - mark.slater@scottishfa.co.uk

South East Region: Tony Begg – tony.begg@scottishfa.co.uk

South West Region: David Sheldon – david.sheldon@scottishfa.co.uk

West Region: Danny Bisland – danny.bisland@scottishfa.co.uk