Mintlaw Academy senior girls football team made history again when they won the Scottish Schools Senior shield for the 5th year in succession, defeating Calderglen High School in the final at Forfar.

Jody Buchan gave Mintlaw an early lead and with the team well on top it looked good for a comfortable victory.

However, the girls could not get the second goal which would probably have settled the game.  Calderglen equalised early in the second half, but Mintlaw continued to enjoy most of the possession and created some chances.  The score at the final whistle was 1-1.

The penalty shoot-out which followed saw Mintlaw take charge with Calderglen missing the target and Keelei Mutch saving one of the spot kicks.

Excellent penalties from Aimee Ridgeway, Caitlin Johnston, Stephanie Hay and Jody Buchan made the final score 4-1 and Captain Nicole Robertson collected the trophy from S.S.F.A. President, Ronnie Hamilton.