Four grassroots heroes from across the North of Scotland have been named as regional winners of the 2016 Scottish FA Grassroots Awards, presented by McDonald’s.

Philip Leat, Amanda Allan, Kenny Clubb and David Adams have been recognised for their commitment to grassroots football at a regional level after being judged by a panel of Scottish FA and McDonald’s representatives. They were presented with their awards at Pittodrie Stadium, before Aberdeen's UEFA Europa League tie against Ventspils.

Now all four will go on to represent the region in the national awards, with their nomination put forward to the national judging panel.

The 2016 award winners from the North Region are:

• Volunteer of the Year in Youth Football - David Adams, Glentanar Community Football Club
• Volunteer of the Year in Schools Football - Kenny Clubb, Culter Primary School
• Volunteer of the Year in Adult Football - Philip Leat, Westdyke FC
• Volunteer of the Year in Girls’/Womens’ Football - Amanda Allan, Deveronvale Girls & Ladies FC

National award winners will be announced at the annual National Grassroots Award Ceremony, which will be held at Hampden Park later in the year.

Scottish FA Club Development Officer, Mark Slater, said: “Every year we’re constantly surprised and inspired by the nominations that we receive. We are incredibly lucky to have an enthusiastic grassroots community across the region who set high standards in providing good quality football for young inspiring footballers. We are extremely proud of our regional winners. To have been recognised at regional level, and possibly nationally, is a great way to say thank you to them for all their hard work. We wish them all the best at the national awards stage.”

McDonald’s has been community partner of the Scottish FA for over 14 years. Together we will be working to help Quality Mark clubs raise the standards of grassroots football through better safety, better advice, better coaching for better coaches, better kit, better support and better recognition for volunteers.

Get more information on the programme and the 2016 Grassroots Awards.