On Thursday 1st December the Scottish FA South West Region hosted our Quality Mark Awards Night.  The awards were held at Hampden Park and the clubs were presented their award by Jim Fleeting, Director of Football Development.

The Award, part of the Quality Mark Accreditation Scheme run by the Scottish FA in partnership with McDonald’s and sportscotland, recognises pro-active clubs and schools working to increase youth and community participation.

Clubs and schools receive the award after meeting standards in areas such as coach and player development, management, administration, welfare and planning.

Regional Club Development Manager John Brown said:

“I am delighted to see so many clubs receive their award tonight. The committee, coaches, players and all associated with these clubs have shown their commitment to working to improve their clubs and make sure that the football in their community is delivered in the best possible way. This award is due recognition for all of their effort and the precious time that they have given up over the years and I hope that they continue to do so in the years ahead. Well done! ”

There are three Quality Mark categories - Standard, Development, and Community. So far more than 250 clubs and schools have achieved accreditation over the three categories, and over 4,000 coaches have benefited from coach education and first aid training.

McDonald’s, Scottish FA’s community partner since 2002, are committed to helping young footballers shine by attracting 13,000 new volunteers and 10,000 new coaches by 2014, as well as supporting 600 clubs and 52,000 players through new and existing football networks.

Over the course of 2011, 20 awards were made within the South West, of which 17 of these clubs were present on the awards night.  Below is a list of the South West Regions current Quality Mark holders –

Community Award

Claremont AFC
Caledonian YFC
Kilbirnie Community FC
Kilwinning Sports Club
Milton Rovers YFC
Strathven Dynamo AFC

Development Award

Annan Athletic FC
Bonnyton Thistle FC
Beith Juniors YFC
Cumnock Juniors YFC
East Kilbride FC
EK Thistle Girls FC
Girvan Youth FC
Kilmarnock Girls FC
Girvan Youth FC
Kilmarnock Girls FC
Mill United FC

Standard Award

Annan Academy
Ayr Thistle Colts FC
Ayr United Girls FC
Beith Juniors FC
Bellfield YFC
Biggar High School
Blantyre Boys Club
Cadzow BC
Craigie United FC
Cunninghme Youth FC
Dalry Rovers Fc
Dean Boys Club
Dreghorn FC
Dumfries Girls FC
East Kilbride Thistle FC
EK Burgh FC
Galloway Thistle FC
Greystone Rovers YFC
Hamilton Accies WGFC
Hamilton Caledonian Thistle GFC
Heston Rovers FC
Hurlford BC
Irvine Thistle YFC
Irvine Victoria YFC
Kilmarnock Portland FC
Lanarkshire Sports Club
Lochar Thistle YFC
Millenium FC
Prestwick Community FC
Scotland BC
Stewarton Annick FC
Stranraer East End FC
Tass Thistle FC
Terregles Youth FC
Troon Thistle FC
Valspar FC
Westwood Rovers FC
Wodwynd Wolves FC

The Quality Mark Accreditation Scheme is supported by sportscotland, the national agency for sport. sportscotland has one clear focus – to develop a world class sporting system for Scotland – and works with partners to build success for Scottish sport.sportscotland is a key partner in the delivery of youth football programmes, investing over £1m per year in activities including employment of club development staff, discounted coach education and training for volunteers.


For further information on the Scottish FA Quality Mark programme,please visit -  www.scottishfa.co.uk/footballdevelopment