Scotland have been drawn in Group 2 for World Cup 2019 qualifying with Switzerland, Poland, Belarus and Albania

The qualifiers will be played from 11 September 2017 to 4 September 2018, with the winner of each of the seven groups will join hosts France at the 2019 tournament.

The fixtures will confirmed in due course.

The seven group winners will qualify to join France in the finals and the four runners-up with the best records against the sides first, third and fourth in their groups will advance to the play-offs.

The play-offs will consist of two rounds of two-legged knockout ties in October and November 2018 to decide Europe's last qualifier.

The side will be led by Shelley Kerr who takes over from Anna Signeul in August and will aim to take Scotland to their first World Cup.

After the draw, Shelley Kerr said: “All the teams in pot A were of a high quality and we were keen to avoid teams like Germany, Sweden and England.

“There are some tough groups when you look at the draw but overall we’re happy with it.

“We’re not taking anything for granted as Switzerland are a great side, as are Poland who we played in the last World Cup qualification campaign.

“Only one team qualifies automatically which makes the format very tough and it’s not a given that we will qualify.

“We have been drawn with teams which will require a lot of travel but i’ll be working with a group of players who are very professional and prepare well.

“The logistics will be important in terms of the preparation and we’ll do that to the best of our ability.

“There’s a lot of hard work to be done and the focus at the moment should be on the Euros as it will give the players a lot of experience and help them when they turn their focus to the World Cup Qualifiers."

World Cup Qualifying Draw in full:

Group 1: England, Russia, Wales, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kazakhstan.

Group 2: Switzerland, Scotland, Poland, Belarus, Albania.

Group 3: Norway, Netherlands, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Northern Ireland.

Group 4: Sweden, Denmark, Ukraine, Hungary, Croatia.

Group 5: Germany, Iceland, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Faroe Islands.

Group 6: Italy, Belgium, Romania, Portugal, Moldova.

Group 7: Spain, Austria, Finland, Serbia, Israel.