Scotland will take on the Auld Enemy in 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship Qualifying Group 4 after being drawn against England at this morning’s draw in Nyon.

Netherlands, Ukraine, Latvia and Andorra complete the group which is set to get under way in September.

Scotland's first match is against Netherlands at home on Tuesday, 5 September.

They will then travel to England on Friday, 6 October before a trip to Latvia four days later.

The teams will play each other home and away with the nine group winners qualifying automatically for the final tournament to be held in the summer of 2019 in Italy and San Marino.

The four best runners-up will compete in a play-off for the remaining two places.

Players are eligible for the 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship if they were born on, or after, 1 January 1996.

Scotland Under-21 coach Scot Gemmill said: "It's a tough group but it will also be a fantastic test for the players.

"I've said before that we need to continually challenge the players if we want them to improve and these fixtures will certainly give them something to think about.

“Of course, the matches against England will add some spice to the mix but we’re looking forward to it.

“We have a bit of time between now and our opening match against Netherlands in September, including the Toulon Tournament in May, but we’ll do everything we can to ensure we are ready for the challenge ahead.”

Fixture list*

Tuesday, 5 September 2017 – Scotland v Netherlands
Friday, 6 October 2017 – England v Scotland
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 – Latvia v Scotland
Friday, 10 November 2017 – Scotland v Latvia
Tuesday, 14 November 2017 – Scotland v Ukraine
Friday, 23 March 2018 – Andorra v Scotland
Thursday, 6 September 2018 – Scotland v Andorra
Tuesday, 11 September 2018 – Netherlands v Scotland
Friday, 12 October 2018 – Ukraine v Scotland
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 – Scotland v England

2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship Qualifying Round Draw

Group 1: Czech Republic, Croatia, Greece, Moldova, Belarus, San Marino
Group 2: Spain, Slovakia, Iceland, Albania, Estonia, Northern Ireland
Group 3: Denmark, Poland, Finland, Georgia, Lithuania, Faroe Islands
Group 4: England, Netherlands, Ukraine, SCOTLAND, Latvia, Andorra
Group 5: Germany, Israel, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Azerbaijan, Kosovo
Group 6: Sweden, Belgium, Turkey, Hungary, Cyprus, Malta
Group 7: Serbia, Austria, Russia, FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Gibraltar
Group 8: Portugal, Switzerland, Romania, Wales, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Liechtenstein
Group 9: France, Slovenia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg

* Fixture list may be subject to change