The qualifying draw for the 2023 UEFA European Under-21 Championship took place in Nyon this morning.

Scotland Under-21s were drawn alongside Denmark, Belgium, Turkey and Kazakhstan in Group I.

53 nations were included in the draw, vying for 14 places at the tournament alongside final tournament co-hosts Georgia and Romania.

Thursday’s draw split the nations in to eight groups of six and one group of five, in which Scot Gemmill’s side were drawn, with the nine groups set to be contested between March 2021 and June 2022.

The nine group winners and the best runner-up will qualify for the final tournament. The other eight runners-up will play off for the remaining four finals berths in September 2022.

Reflecting on the draw and looking ahead to the qualifiers, Under-21s head coach Scot Gemmill said: "We know the badges and the strips our opponents will be wearing but aside from that it is largely unknown at this point. We have to be completely respectful of the seedings in the group and prepare as best we can as the games approach us.

"One of the brilliant parts of the job is seeing our young players progress and now it will be a largely new set of players and it’s exciting to look forward to these games and seeing how we develop as a team."

Fixture Dates

Turkey v Scotland – Tuesday, 7 September 2021
Denmark v Scotland – Friday 8 October 2021
Scotland v Kazakhstan – Friday 12 November 2021
Scotland v Belgium – Tuesday 16 November 2021
Scotland v Turkey – Friday 25 March 2022
Kazakhstan v Scotland – Tuesday 29 March 2022
Belgium v Scotland – Sunday 5 June 2022
Scotland v Denmark – Friday 10 June 2022

Full Draw

Group A: Croatia, Austria, Norway, Finland, Azerbaijan, Estonia

Group B: Germany, Poland, Israel, Hungary, Latvia, San Marino

Group C: Spain, Russia, Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Lithuania, Malta

Group D: Portugal, Greece, Iceland, Belarus, Cyprus, Liechtenstein

Group E: Netherlands, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Wales, Moldova, Gibraltar

Group F: Italy, Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Luxembourg

Group G: England, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Albania, Kosovo, Andorra

Group H: France, Serbia, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Faroe Islands, Armenia

Group I: Denmark, Belgium, Turkey, SCOTLAND, Kazakhstan