23 clubs, were honoured at the annual Scottish FA South East Regional Quality Awards last Saturday. 

Tynecastle Stadium played host to the event where clubs and volunteers were recognised for their outstanding work in the grassroots game.

To gain one of the awards - Standard, Development, Community or Legacy – clubs must meet the relevant Quality Mark criteria.

Designed to support and recognise the work of clubs who have the desire to be the very best they can be, the Scottish FA Quality Mark accreditation programme aims to improve and support club structures concerning management, development, administration, planning and welfare.

Scottish FA South East Region Club Development Manager, Tony Begg, said: “The annual awards event is a chance for us to reward and highlight the great work that happens in clubs across the region and extend our sincere thanks to all the volunteers within clubs who commit so much time, energy and passion to our game.”

“I was delighted we had so many teams being re-accredited or moving up through the levels this year. Its testament to the great work our clubs do in their communities and I congratulate them all on their terrific achievements.”

Hearts player Kevin McHattie and former Jambos Andy Kirk and John Robertson were there to help present the awards through-out the afternoon. A video featuring Community and Legacy Level clubs, produced by Youth Football Scotland, was screened to showcase the work each of the clubs do in their local community, whilst guest speaker Willie Hunter also entertained the audience.

David Drummond, South East Regional manager said during his speech “Football has developed in the Region over the last year and especially regarding clubs obtaining Quality Mark recognition.”

“As well, in the last year over 2000 coaches have participated in 65 Scottish FA coach education courses, while there are 20 teams participating in the recently introduced over-35's football. Alongside five schools of football in the region with 200 players training every day.”

The clubs recognised were:

Standard Award
Chirnside FC
Duns FC
Dunedin Athletic FC
Hawick FC
Melrose FC
Cockenzie Star FC
Earlston Rhymers FC
Edinburgh South FC
Coldstream FC
Lauderdale FC
Tweedbank FC
Development Award
North Merchiston FC
Edinburgh City FC
Star A CYP
Hibernian Girls & Ladies FC
Edinburgh Utd FC
Community Award
Craigshill Thistle CFC
Hutchison Value CFC
Loanhead Miners YFC
Whitburn FCA
Legacy Award
Bonnyrigg Rose FSC
Murieston Utd CFC
Blackburn United CF