The 2016/17 Scottish FA Youth Cup is officially under way, after the draws for the first and second rounds were conducted by Scottish FA President, Alan McRae.

Holders Motherwell, and the 15 other teams who reached the fourth round last season, will enter the competition at the third round stage. Motherwell lifted the trophy for the first time in their history with a thrilling 5-2 win over Heart of Midlothian at Hampden in April.

First round draw (ties scheduled to be played on Sunday 28 August 2016)

North Section Central Section
1. Deveronvale v Inverurie Loco Works 1. Clyde v Queen’s Park
2. Turriff United v Keith 2. Dunfermline Athletic v Berwick Rangers
3. Aberdeen v Fraserburgh 3. Heriot-Watt University v Partick Thistle
  4. Edusport Academy v Alloa Athletic
4. Montrose  Byes:
5. Formartine United 5. Albion Rovers
6. Forfar Athletic 6. Spartans
7. Buckie Thistle 7. Hamilton Academical
8. Clachnacuddin 8. Cowdenbeath
9. Banks O’ Dee 9. Hibernian
10. Lossiemouth 10. East Kilbride
  11. Falkirk
South Section 12. Raith Rovers
No Ties 13. Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale
  14. Edinburgh City
Byes: 15. Stirling Albion
1. Annan Athletic 16. Tynecastle
2. Stranraer 17. Livingston
  18. BSC Glasgow
  19. Whitehill Welfare
  20. Preston Athletic

Second round draw (ties scheduled to be played on or before Sunday 25 September 2016)

North Section
1. Buckie Thistle v Clachnacuddin
2. Banks O’ Dee v Montrose
3. Formartine United v Lossiemouth
4. Deveronvale OR Inverurie Loco Works v Forfar Athletic
5. Turriff United OR Keith v Aberdeen OR Fraserburgh

South Section
1. Stranraer v Annan Athletic

Central Section
1. Edusport Academy OR Alloa Athletic v Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale
2. Edinburgh City v Preston Athletic
3. Spartans v Whitehill Welfare
4. Livingston v Dunfermline Athletic OR Berwick Rangers
5. Stirling Albion v Clyde OR Queen’s Park
6. Falkirk v Albion Rovers
7. East Kilbride v BSC Glasgow
8. Hamilton Academical v Raith Rovers
9. Cowdenbeath v Heriot-Watt University OR Partick Thistle
10. Tynecastle v Hibernian

Clubs entering the competition in round three

1. Airdrieonians
2. Ayr United
3. Celtic
4. Cumbernauld Colts
5. Dundee
6. Dundee United
7. Greenock Morton
8. Heart of Midlothian
9. Inverness Caledonian Thistle
10. Kilmarnock
11. Motherwell
12. Queen of the South
13. Rangers
14. Ross County
15. St. Johnstone
16. St. Mirren