UEFA European Under-21 Championship Qualifiers

England v Scotland

Friday, 6 October 2017, kick-off 7.45pm

Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough

Live on BT Sport


Tonight Scotland Under-21s are looking to continue momentum following on from the men’s ‘A’ squad’s morale boosting win over Slovakia.


Scot Gemmill’s side are making waves of their own and go into tonight’s match against England high on confidence having defeated the Netherlands 2-0 last month.


The victory at the Paisley 2021 Stadium was spearheaded by Oliver Burke and Stephen Mallan goals.



England go into the match after drawing 1-1 against the Netherlands in their opening game and defeating Latvia 3-0.


Also in Scotland’s group are Ukraine and Andorra.


Led by Aidy Boothroyd, England Under-21s are expected to field Premier League players such as Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold, Everton midfielder Tom Davies, Crystal Palace's Ruben Loftus-Cheek and Everton striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin.


Ahead of the game, Scot Gemmill said: “If you look at the match against Holland, everyone did their job. It was a really strong team performance. To get what we want tonight we’re going to have to replicate that.



“Having worked with the players, I am so confident they won’t be overawed by the occasion. They are all playing at a good level and I believe they won’t be intimidated by anyone.


“The players have to see this as a big opportunity to show all the managers watching that they can be trusted to play regularly for their first teams.


“They are all incredibly fortunate to be in a place where they will be playing tonight and it’s up to them to put in the performance.”


Tickets are still available for the match


Match officials


Referee: Juan Martinez Munuera (ESP)

Assistant referees: Raúl Cabanero (ESP), César Manuel Noval Font (ESP)


Scotland Under-21 squad




Ryan Fulton (Hamilton Academical)

Ross Doohan (Celtic) ****

Jack Ruddy (Wolverhampton Wanderers) *




Jason Kerr (St Johnstone) **

Ross McCrorie (Rangers)

Scott McKenna (Aberdeen)

Calvin Miller (Celtic)

Liam Smith (Heart of Midlothian) ***

John Souttar (Heart of Midlothian)

Greg Taylor (Kilmarnock)

Ryan Williamson (Dunfermline)




Theo Archibald (Brentford)

Chris Cadden (Motherwell)

Allan Campbell (Motherwell)

Greg Docherty (Hamilton Academical) 

Michael Johnston (Celtic)

Stephen Mallan (Barnsley)

Lewis Morgan (St Mirren)

Dominic Thomas (Kilmarnock)




Oliver Burke (West Bromwich Albion) 

Ryan Hardie (Rangers) 

Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)

Scott Wright (Aberdeen)


* on loan to Oldham Athletic

** on loan to Queen of the South

*** on loan to St Mirren

**** on loan to Greenock Morton