UEFA Nations League
Albania v Scotland
Saturday, 17 November, kick-off 7.45pm
Loro Borici Stadium, Shkoder

UEFA Nations League
Scotland v Israel
Tuesday, 20 November, kick-off 7.45pm
Hampden Park, Glasgow

Scotland manager Alex McLeish has named his squad for the crucial upcoming UEFA Nations League double-header, as his side looks to secure a playoff place for UEFA Euro 2020.

Celtic midfielder Ryan Christie is rewarded for a scintillating run of form in recent weeks, with the Inverness-born winger included after helping the Parkhead outfit reach the Betfred Cup final with an influential performance against Hearts last month. Meanwhile, Callum Paterson is also recalled, the Cardiff City player’s versatility a valuable asset to the coaching staff.

McLeish’s attacking options are further boosted by the return of two experienced international performers to the national setup, with Matt Phillips and Steven Fletcher both recalled by the manager. West Bromwich Albion winger Phillips returns after a lengthy injury layoff, with Fletcher rewarded for his performances for Sheffield Wednesday with a first call-up this year.

There are also places for Aberdeen duo Gary Mackay-Steven and Michael Devlin, both of whom were late call-ups to the squad for October’s friendly against Portugal at Hampden Park and retain their place in the squad. Mackay-Steven’s impressive cameo against the European champions caught the eye, whilst 25-year-old centre-back Devlin will be looking to make his debut for the national side.

Elsewhere, there is a settled look to the playing group. After withdrawing from the previous squad due to injury, Charlie Mulgrew, Kieran Tierney and Ryan Fraser are all included, with the squad led once more by Andy Robertson.


Craig Gordon (Celtic)
Allan McGregor (Rangers)
Jon McLaughlin (Sunderland)

Michael Devlin (Aberdeen)
Scott McKenna (Aberdeen)
Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)
Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock)
Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)
Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen)
Kieran Tierney (Celtic)

Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)
Ryan Christie (Celtic)
James Forrest (Celtic)
Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth)
Gary Mackay-Steven (Aberdeen)
Kevin McDonald (Fulham)
John McGinn (Aston Villa)
Callum McGregor (Celtic)
Callum Paterson (Cardiff City)

Steven Fletcher (Sheffield Wednesday)
Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)
Matt Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)
Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City)