2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ Qualifiers
Malta v Scotland
Sunday 4th September 2016, kick-off 8.45 pm (local time)
National Stadium, Ta'Qali, Malta

The countdown to the FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign is now well under way, after Gordon Strachan announced his squad for the opening match in Malta on Sunday, 4th September.

The most recent youth squad players to make the step up -  Jack Hamilton, Callum Paterson, Kieran Tierney, Oliver Burke, John McGinn and Barrie McKay - are all named in the group of 27 players, after being included in the squads for the friendly matches earlier this year.

Scotland squad:

Craig Gordon (Celtic)   
Jack Hamilton (Heart of Midlothian)
David Marshall (Cardiff City)

Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town)   
Gordon Greer (Blackburn Rovers)   
Grant Hanley (Newcastle United)   
Alan Hutton (Aston Villa)
Russell Martin (Norwich City)
Callum Paterson (Heart of Midlothian)
Andrew Robertson (Hull City)
Kieran Tierney (Celtic)

Ikechi Anya (Watford)
Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday)
Oliver Burke (Nottingham Forest)
Darren Fletcher (West Bromwich Albion)
James Forrest (Celtic)   
James McArthur (Crystal Palace)
Kevin McDonald (Fulham)
John McGinn (Hibernian)
Barrie McKay (Rangers)
James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)
Matt Ritchie (Newcastle United)
Robert Snodgrass (Hull City)

Steven Fletcher (Sheffield Wednesday)
Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)
Chris Martin (Derby County)
Steven Naismith (Norwich City)