UEFA European Under-17s Championship – Qualifying Round

Tuesday, 22 October 2019
Scotland v Armenia, 6:00pm (Forthbank Stadium, Stirling)

Friday, 25 October 2019
Scotland v Iceland, 6:00pm (Forthbank Stadium, Stirling)

Monday, 28 October 2019
Scotland v Croatia, 7:05pm (Forthbank Stadium, Stirling)

Scotland will face Armenia, Iceland and Croatia in the qualifying round for the 2020 UEFA Under-17s Championship this month.

The qualifying round is the first of three stages in the competition and features 13 groups of four teams. Nations will attempt to book their place in the elite round from which they can secure their spot in the tournament finals in Estonia next summer.

One nation from every group is chosen as host and a mini tournament is held in that country. The winner and runner-up from each will go through to the elite round, with the four best third-placed teams also progressing.

Scotland will face some tough competition as they attempt to make it to the next stage. Iceland made it to the finals in Ireland last summer but did not make it to the knockouts. Croatia also came close to qualifying for the finals as one of the best second placed teams but were edged out by Germany.

Brian McLaughlin named his squad earlier this month, and the head coach will hope to build on his team’s progress in the 2019 championship where Scotland made it past the qualifying round but did not manage to make it to Ireland after securing just one point from three games in the elite round.

The 20-man squad features seven Scottish FA JD Performance School pupils and a host of players from both Scottish and English clubs. It also includes 16-year-old Liam Morrison who joined Bundesliga side Bayern Munich from Celtic earlier this year. The centre-back also featured in McLaughlin’s squad for the 2019 elite round.


All three of Scotland's matches will be available to watch via BBC Sport Online. Entry to each of the matches is free.

Scotland Under-17 Squad

Jay Hogarth (Rangers)
Tom Ritchie (Aberdeen)*
Lewis Coulton (Preston North End)
Adam Devine (Rangers)
Leon King (Rangers)
Dane Murray (Celtic)
Liam Morrison (Bayern Munich)*
Ben Nelson (Leicester City)
Calvin Ramsay (Aberdeen)*
Leo Watson (Heart of Midlothian)
Mackenzie Carse (Celtic)
Jayden Fairley (Hibernian)
Kevin Hanratty (Aberdeen)*
Alexy Lowry (Rangers)*
Chris Mochrie (Dundee United)*
Reagan Thomson (Queen's Park)
Ryan Duncan (Aberdeen)
Barry Hepburn (Celtic)
Michael Mellon (Burnley)
Liam Smith (Kilmarnock)*

* Denotes Scottish FA JD Performance School pupil