Regional and national nominations for the 10th annual Scottish FA Grassroots Awards, presented by McDonald’s and the Sunday Mail, are open in the South West region.

The awards recognise the ‘unsung heroes’ who dedicate their free time to making the grassroots game a success in Scotland.

Last year Hugh Carswell from Ayrshire was named as Best Volunteer in Adult Football at the national awards.

He said: “It is fantastic to have received the award and I feel extremely proud to do so. There are so many fantastic people involved in grassroots football in Scotland and to rub shoulders with them during the awards ceremony was a wonderful experience. It’s very flattering to have been recognised in this way and to have met a legend of the game such as Kenny Dalglish.”

You can put forward a volunteer from your club for the recognition that they deserve for the following five categories:

Volunteer of the Year in Youth Football
Volunteers remain the lifeblood of the game. Who is the person who gets things done at your club?

Volunteer of the Year in Schools Football
We are looking for the teacher, janitor, pupil or parent who dedicates their own time to get young people active during and after school.

Volunteer of the Year in Adult Football

There are volunteers at every club across the country working tirelessly for thousands of us to carry on our playing ambitions long into adulthood so make sure their efforts are recognised.

Volunteer of the Year in Disability Football

Many people today outside of mainstream football have the chance to play thanks to dedicated volunteers who should be recognised for their selfless work in the game.

Volunteer of the Year in Girls’/Women's Football

We are looking for the passionate volunteer who makes things happen in the girls’ and women's game.

Our regional winners will then become the shortlist in the same category for our national awards along with three additional categories which recognises and rewards individuals and clubs across the country who make a difference to grassroots football in their local community.
The three extra awards are:
Best Coach of The Year
We are looking for someone who inspires people and brings the best out of players both on and off the park.  A coach who demonstrates commitment, dedication and passion to the grassroots game.

Best Professional Club in the Community
Do you know of a club who has the interests of the community at heart, a club which promotes the value of the grassroots game through their own professional status?

Best Community Football Club

Are you part of or do you know of a club that is an integral part of the community?  A club that provides playing opportunities for all, from young to old, male and female and of all playing abilities, a truly open doors club?
National winners will be presented with their award by Kenny Dalglish and special guests at the annual national ceremony at Hampden in September 2013.

To NOMINATE, click here